The R&D activity of the Tribology Department comprises the problems of friction, wear and lubricating of machines components, with particular attention paid to research methods and test devices. The main directions of research conducted at the department include the following:

-        the scientific investigation of friction and wear processes in macro-, micro- and nanoscale;

-        the development of methods facilitating tribological properties of machine elements;

-        the development of systems for the assessment of tribological properties of structural materials and lubricating substances;

-        the development of tribotesters and laboratory equipment for tribological investigations.

           The department consists of the Tribological Testing Laboratory and Laboratories of Scanning Microscopy and Metrology that have been accredited by the Polish Centre for Accreditation (PCA).

           The department cooperates with numerous national and international universities and research institutes, inter alia, Technical Universities in Cracow, Lodz, Rzeszow, Radom, Wroclaw and Poznan, Lodz University, the University of Warmia and Mazury, the University of Monterrey in Mexico, the Institute of Superhard Materials in Kiev, the Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (BAM Institute) in Berlin and the Tribological Centre in Neustadt, Austria.

           The research and test apparatus designed at the department and manufactured at the Institute has been introduced at many national technical universities, research institutes and industrial R&D laboratories. Moreover, the department’s original solutions are also exported to such countries as China, Israel, Mexico, Germany, USA, Hungary, Vietnam, Russia, South Korea, Croatia and Czech Republic.


dr hab. inż. 
Waldemar Tuszyński
prof. nadzw.


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

tel. (+48) 48 364-42-41 wew. 238

 prof. dr hab. inż. Marian Szczerek
dr hab. inż. Remigiusz Michalczewski, prof. nadzw.
dr hab. inż. Witold Piekoszewski, prof. nadzw. 
mgr inż. Marek Kalbarczyk
mgr inż. Anita Mańkowska-Snopczyńska
dr inż. Edyta Osuch-Słomka
inż. Andrzej Snarski-Adamski
Mieczysław Hebda
mrg inż Michał Gibała

Research areas

tekst alternatywny dla flash